Over $85,000 in Scholarships Awarded

The Huron County Community Foundation is pleased to announce that this year $85,624 in scholarship money was awarded to local students furthering their education after high school graduation. In alignment with the Foundation’s mission of investing resources in the growth and prosperity of our county, helping Huron County youth receive training after high school provides them with the resources needed to make a difference in the future. The generosity of scholarship donors shows their commitment to the young people of our county. We appreciate the trust and confidence placed in the Foundation to act as a vehicle for those wishing to continue their educational pursuits.

The Keith and Bertha McTaggart Scholarship gave its first award in 2017. Keith McTaggart was instrumental in starting the Huron Area Technical Center. This scholarship, established by his family, honors that legacy by supporting the education of an HATC graduate.

The Judge Neil R. MacCallum Memorial Scholarship to Central Michigan University (CMU) in the amount of $1,125 was awarded to Kirah Osentoki, Ubly, currently attending CMU and the scholarship for Bad Axe School went to Alayna Knarian for $1,125.

The Jason Kiehl Memorial Scholarship for Huron Area Technical Center students was granted in the amount of $1,150 each to Jacob Warack, of Owen-Gage Community School; Michaela Glass of Bad Axe Public Schools; Derek Booms of Harbor Beach Community School; and Jonathan Brandel of Ubly Community School.

Hunter Talaski of Bad Axe Public School and Jessica Murawski of North Huron High School each received an award of $500 from the Maurer/Yageman Bowling Scholarship Fund.

Jillian Osentoski of Ubly Community School and Kayla Chaplinski of North Huron High School each received an award of $600 each from the Clarence and Loraine Braun Scholarship.

Derek Booms from Harbor Beach and Nicholas Schramski from North Huron High School each received $1,000 from the Gib Rooney Family Scholarship.

The Steven Kuzak Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Ryan Heleski from Bad Axe Public Schools for $2,000.

Owendale- Gagetown graduate Jacob Warack received $400 from the Michael B. & Regina V. Lasceski Scholarship.

The Huron Area Tech Center Scholarship was awarded to Emily Wahl of from Bad Axe Public School and Aaron Klama from Ubly Community School each receiving $400.

New fund, the Keith and Bertha McTaggart Scholarship, gave its first awards of $1000 to Jonathan Brandel of Ubly Cmmunity Schools; Kendall Pawlowski of North Huron High School; and Derek Booms of Harbor Beach Community Schools.

Receiving the C.A. Scheurer & BG Kamlapurker Medical Scholarship were Henry Kozdron and Jamie Roggenbuck both of Harbor Beach for $1,162 each.

Other scholarship recipients by school district are:

BAD AXE:  Ryan Heleski, the Claude Marsh Scholarship for $2,000; Alayna Knarian and Mariah Will, Collon/Todd Scholarship for $530; Clark Brady for $16,225 the Dr. Edward Steinhardt Family Science Scholarship; Danielle Maurer, the Ervin Ignash Scholarship for $1,100; Ashleigh Krug, the K. William & Joanne Pietscher Future Educators Scholarship for $2,000;  Danielle Maurer, was the scholarship recipient for the Linda Rowland Drama Scholarship for $2,000; and Danielle Maurer, Norah Dowde Bad Axe Rotary Scholarship for $1,500.

CASEVIlLE: Gabriel Hogan received the Caseville Kiwanis Scholarship for $500 as well as the Mary K. and Robert Quinn Memorial Scholarship for $1,125.

HARBOR BEACH: Haley Talaski, the Deer Acres Scholarship for $1,785; Hannah Clink and Kinsey Kramer, the Esther E. Lincoln Scholarship for $1,050 each; Brady Kirsh and Jenna Arndt were awarded the Harbor Beach Rotary Clement M. Kubik Scholarship for $470 each; Haley Talaski, the Annabelle Jenks Scholarship of $350; Ashley Kramer and Hannah Clink, the Marla Muter Scholarship for $1015 each; Jada Learman, the Sgt. Aaron C. Elandt Memorial Scholarship for $1,000; Jenna Ardnt, the Warren S. Eilber Family Scholarship for $340; Haley Talaski, the Charlotte Talaski Family Scholarship of $390; and Haley Talaski and Jada Learman, the William Eick School Family Scholarship for $680 each.

LAKERS: Aaron Maust, the ETL Agricultural Scholarship for $1,000.

NORTH HURON: Tammy Kessel, the Bill & Sandy Hogan Memorial Scholarship for $500; Jessica Murawski and Tammy Kessel were awarded the Robert and Verneta Thuemmel Memorial Scholarship for $1,000 each; Nicholas Schramski received the Warren S. Eilber Family Scholarship for $340.

OWEN-GAGE:  Jacob Warack was awarded the Cooley Family Scholarship in the amount of $2,500.

UBLY: Noah Krueger and Kirah Osentoski, the Betty Zulauf Academic Scholarship for $1,000 each; Jillian Osentoski, the Francis and Opal Hund Scholarship for $1,500; Jonathan Brandel and Noah Krueger, the Gemini Plastics Scholarship for $1,000 each; and Kirah Osentoski, Olivia Lipskey, Travis Terbrack, Megan Leppek, and Brianna Pionk received the Madeline M. Bauer Scholarship for $1,015 each.